top of page

DevBlog #20: Cast off and full speed ahead!


A sunny and warm hello to all readers!


Once again a week has passed and unlike the last blog post I have a lot to report today. Let's start everything right away!


Last week has officially been my last working week in my company. Since I'm planning to change jobs, there was still a lot to do, but thanks to overtime I've been able to develop at least one project a bit further.


Pirates on the high seas


I've done it! I have written a German translation for my short game "Pirate Pete's Treasure Task"! "Huh? But there's already a German translation!" Shit! That could have worked. But in fact, I had to throw out my entire translation once last week. The reason is: I've found a way to standardize all the dialogues. This has been a lot of work in itself, reformatting everything again, but in the long run it makes it easier to add new texts and puzzles.


Another truly groundbreaking change has been the random generation of step numbers. A bit technical: First I had fixed numbers for each cardinal point, which were chosen randomly. With 4 different numbers per cardinal point, this aspect alone made 4x4x4 equal 256 game variations. Additionally the cardinal point (i.e. where north is) is changed with each game pass, and each puzzle has further variations.


But what has changed now? I have now adjusted the pool in such a way that not every cardinal point has only a fixed selection of numbers (which sometimes repeat faster), but that in each new round 4 different numbers are taken from the whole pool of numbers. The result? Currently over 11,000 different combinations!


Pirates love counting... at least for gold!

In addition, we are slowly making our way to the 1500 View and I am curious if and when we will even reach this number.


So this week, a lot has happened again to increase the amusement of this little game for in between times. When this change is done, I will dedicate a last time a few new puzzles and will probably release the game from demo time, as long as there is no more considerable feedback, which makes me change my mind.


With this I say goodbye to the new week and wish everyone an equally good start into the next 7 days!


Yours

GameMakingDizzy


P.S. If you like the post, maybe think about a follow and/or hot chocolate via my Ko-fi account (https://ko-fi.com/gamemakingdizzy).

10 Ansichten0 Kommentare
bottom of page