top of page

DevBlog #22: In the Summertime!


Hello, darlings!


Mungo Jerry already put it so aptly back then and I can only confirm these first three words of his reframe: We're "in the Summertime"! And if that's not enough to inspire you, then my weekly blog post will definitely do it! Have fun reading!


First things first: The next DevBlog for the coming week will unfortunately be cancelled. The reason is quite simple: I'm on vacation and therefore have nothing to report on progress in game development. After that the week will be very exciting for me, as I start my new job.



The commercial part first: I still have a few small things to do, but on the whole, people are probably quite happy with my work. Nevertheless, I think that I can finish it before my new job, hand it over for testing and after some rework (which of course has been included in the planning) it will be done.

Unfortunately I did not manage to finish my update for the free version. A few dialogs and adjustments of the puzzles didn't work out the way I'd like it to. A friendly tester had also pointed out to me that some sentences were cut off in the text boxes. Therefore it must wait until after my trip unfortunately.


Holiday project


Also with my small holiday project it has continued cheerfully. I added another mission, which is to storm the bandits' camp. These missions take place via a combat system similar to the one from the Fire Emblem series. There is a player and an opponent phase. In each phase, any actions (movement and attack) are carried out. By using different victory conditions (e.g. bringing the goods in the form of a horse to a certain place or simply defeating all enemies, variety is added.


Hot stuff!

Unlike in the Fire Emblem games, however, I decided to let the fights take place "on the map" first. I would like to give 2 reasons for this.


  • The battle screen would have to be adjusted to make it look more or less consistent. I don't see this as a major priority right now.

  • AoE attacks, i.e. abilities that hit several enemies: The problem is that the Combat Screen only opens one window per enemy at a time... So if you hit 3 enemies at once, for example, the combat screen will also open 3 times, which I personally consider unattractive, but I can't change it.

So you can see on my screenshot today the powerful fire attack of our mage (pictures of the actors not final, just as a test), how it literally burns an enemy. Thanks to different levels of difficulty I can even make the missions more varied. Thus, as if from nowhere, more enemies or stronger opponents can appear, which can additionally add to our group of adventurers.


If you are interested in a demo, you can send me a message in the RPG Maker Forum or via Twitter @GameMakingDizzy.


In this sense I wish you a nice start into the week!


Yours

GameMakingDizzy


11 Ansichten
bottom of page